Question of Palestine home || Permalink || About UNISPAL || Search

Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter


"As is" reference - not a United Nations document

Source: European Union (EU)
11 October 2015



Bruxelles
11/10/2015
151011_02

MEDIA

PRESS RELEASE

Federica Mogherini spoke to Israeli Prime Minister Netanyahu and Palestinian President Abbas

Federica Mogherini, High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the European Commission, this evening held phone conversations with Prime Minister of Israel Benjamin Netanyahu and with Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas to discuss the latest escalation of violence.

In the calls, the High Representative underlined the need to promote calm, encourage restraint and avoid actions which would fuel the tensions even further. Too many people have died already and too many families were left bereaved.

Federica Mogherini condemned acts of terror against civilians, and stressed that any reaction should be proportionate.

The High Representative recalled in both conversations that the only way to tackle the violence and unrest is to quickly restart a credible political process. The immediate priority is for the parties to agree on substantial steps which would improve the situation on the ground and build a path back to final status negotiations. A negotiated two state solution is the only way to bring the lasting peace and security that both Israelis and Palestinians deserve.

President Abbas assured the HRVP that he is determined to keep the situation under control. Prime Minister Netanyahu restated to the High Representative his commitment to maintain the status quo at the holy sites.

President Abbas and Prime Minister Netanyahu have both expressed their willingness to work on the implementation of the provisions agreed at the Quartet meeting in New York at the end of September.

Far from preventing the resumption of a political dialogue, the latest tensions should push both parties to work together for the sake of their people, HRVP Mogherini insisted in the calls.

FOR FURTHER DETAILS:
Catherine Ray +32 (0)498 96 99 21 - +32 (0)2 296 99 21 - Catherine.Ray@ec.europa.eu - @CatherineEUspox
Maja Kocijancic +32 (0)498 984 425 - +32 (0)2 298 65 70 -Maja.Kocijancic@ec.europa.eu - @MajaEUspox
Nabila Massrali +32 (0)460 75 41 75 - +32 (0)2 29 69218 -Nabila.Massrali@ec.europa.eu
Adam Kaznowski +32 (0)460 753 293 - +32 (0) 2 29 89359 -Adam.Kaznowski@ec.europa.eu
Anca Paduraru +32 (0)498 966 430 - +32 (0)2 29 66430 -Anca.Paduraru@ec.europa.eu
Daniel Puglisi: +32 (0)460 767374 - +32 (0)2 29 69140 -Daniel.Puglisi@ec.europa.eu
Sharon Zarb +32 2 (0)460 792 256 - +32 (0)2 29 92256 -Sharon.Zarb@ec.europa.eu


http://eeas.europa.eu/statements-eeas/2015/151011_02_en.htm


Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter