Question of Palestine home || Permalink || About UNISPAL || Search

English (pdf) ||Arabic||Chinese||Français||Русский||Español||

Follow UNISPAL Twitter RSS


        General Assembly
24 April 1997


Tenth emergency special session
Agenda item 3

Report of the Credentials Committee

Chairman: Mr. Denis DANGUE RÉWAKA (Gabon)

1. At its 1st plenary meeting, on 24 April 1997, the General Assembly, in accordance with rule 28 of its rules of procedure, appointed a Credentials Committee for its tenth emergency special session with the same composition as that of the Credentials Committee for the fifty-first regular session, namely: China, Dominican Republic, Gabon, Netherlands, Paraguay, Philippines, Russian Federation, Sierra Leone and United States of America.

2. The Credentials Committee met on 24 April 1997. In opening the meeting, the Acting Legal Counsel referred to rule 63 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly, according to which the President and Vice-Presidents for emergency special sessions shall be, respectively, the chairman of those delegations from which were elected the President and Vice-Presidents of the previous session, and suggested that, in accordance with past practice, the said rule could equally be applied to the Chairman of the Credentials Committee.

3. There having been no objection to the above-mentioned suggestion, Mr. Denis Dangue Réwaka (Gabon) took the chair.

4. The Credentials Committee had before it a memorandum by the Secretary-General, dated 23 April 1997, on the status of credentials of representatives to the tenth emergency special session.

5. A statement relating to the memorandum by the Secretary-General was made by his representative, the Acting Legal Counsel.

6. In his memorandum, which was based on information received up to 23 April 1997, the Secretary-General recalled that, in his note convening the tenth emergency special session, he had notified Member States that credentials for those representatives who were not already authorized to represent their Governments at all sessions of the General Assembly should be issued in accordance with rule 27 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly and might be presented by cable or telefax. It was indicated in paragraph 2 of the memorandum that the following Member States had Permanent Representatives who were authorized to represent their Governments at all sessions of the General Assembly: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Canada, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Congo, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Tajikistan, Thailand, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Zambia and Zimbabwe. It was also indicated, in paragraph 3 of the memorandum, that credentials in due form or in the form of a facsimile or a cable from the Head of State or Government or the Minister for Foreign Affairs had been received in respect of the representatives of the following Member States: Cuba, Djibouti, Honduras, Italy, Mauritania, Russian Federation and Syrian Arab Republic. In paragraph 4 of the memorandum, it was indicated that the Secretary-General had received communications emanating from Ministries of Foreign Affairs, Permanent Representatives or Permanent Missions concerned in respect of the representatives of the following Member States: Antigua and Barbuda and Libyan Arab Jamahiriya.

7. During the meeting the Acting Legal Counsel informed the Committee that, subsequent to the preparation of the memorandum, additional credentials in due form or in the form of a facsimile or a cable had been received in respect of the representatives of the following Member States: Bolivia, Brazil, China, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Jamaica and Nicaragua, which updated the memorandum accordingly. The Acting Legal Counsel further informed the Committee that, in addition, a note verbale had been received from the Permanent Mission of the Sudan to the United Nations in respect of its representatives. The Acting Legal Counsel also noted that, in accordance with the practice concerning previous emergency special sessions, Permanent Representatives whose credentials did not authorize them to represent their Governments in all organs of the United Nations had been informed that they would need additional credentials accrediting them to the tenth emergency special session. He stated that no additional credentials had been received from the following such Member States: Benin, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Comoros, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Equatorial Guinea, Haiti, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Mali, Nepal, Palau, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Senegal, Yemen and Zaire. In this connection it was suggested that, in accordance with the consistent practice of the General Assembly, the representatives of the above Member States should be seated provisionally on the understanding that their credentials in due form would be submitted as soon as possible.

8. The Chairman proposed that the Committee accept the credentials of the representatives of the Member States referred to in the memorandum of the Secretary-General, as supplemented by the oral statement of the Acting Legal Counsel, on the understanding that formal credentials for representatives of the Member States not referred to in paragraphs 2 and 3 of the memorandum would be communicated in due form to the Secretary-General as soon as possible. The following draft resolution was proposed by the Chairman for adoption by the Committee:
9. The draft resolution was adopted by the Committee without a vote.

10. The Chairman then proposed that the Committee recommend to the General Assembly the adoption of a draft resolution (see para. 12). The proposal was adopted without a vote.

11. In view of the foregoing, the present report is submitted to the General Assembly.


12. The Credentials Committee recommends to the General Assembly the adoption of the following draft resolution:

Credentials of representatives to the tenth emergency
special session of the General Assembly

The General Assembly,

Having considered the report of the Credentials Committee and the recommendation contained therein,

Approves the report of the Credentials Committee.


Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter