Question of Palestine home || Permalink || About UNISPAL || Search

English (pdf) ||Arabic||Chinese||Français||Русский||Español||

Follow UNISPAL Twitter RSS


        General Assembly
        Security Council

3 April 1996

Fifty-first session Fifty-first year
Item 33 of the preliminary list*

Letter dated 1 April 1996 from the Permanent Representatives of
Egypt and the United States of America to the United Nations
addressed to the Secretary-General

We have the honour to enclose the text of the Co-Chairmen's statement of the Summit of Peacemakers adopted on 13 March 1996 at Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt. We ask that it be circulated as an official document of the General Assembly, under item 33 of the preliminary list, and of the Security Council.

(Signed) Nabil A. ELARABY (Signed) Madeleine K. ALBRIGHT
Ambassador Ambassador
Permanent Representative of Permanent Representative of
the Arab Republic of Egypt the United States of America
to the United Nations to the United Nations

* A/51/50.

96-08079 (E)


Co-Chairmen's Statement of the Summit of Peacemakers,
adopted on 13 March 1996 at Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt

The Summit of Peacemakers has just concluded. This meeting took place at a time when the peace process is confronting serious threats. The Summit had three fundamental objectives: to enhance the peace process, to promote security and to combat terror. Accordingly, the participants here today:

- Express their full support for the Middle East peace process and their determination that this process continue in order to accomplish a just, lasting and comprehensive peace in the region;

- Affirm their determination to promote security and stability and to prevent the enemies of peace from achieving their ultimate objective of destroying the real opportunity for peace in the Middle East;

- Re-emphasize their strong condemnation of all acts of terror in all its abhorrent forms, whatever its motivation, and whoever its perpetrator, including recent terrorist attacks in Israel, consider them alien to the moral and spiritual values shared by all the peoples of the region and reaffirm their intention to stand staunchly against all such acts, and to urge all Governments to join them in this condemnation and opposition.

To that end, we decided:

(a) To support the Israeli-Palestinian agreements, the continuation of the negotiating process and to politically and economically reinforce it, to enhance the security situation for both, with special attention to the current and pressing economic needs of the Palestinians;

(b) To support continuation of the negotiating process in order to achieve a comprehensive settlement;

(c) To work together to promote security and stability in the region by developing effective and practical means of cooperation and further assistance;

(d) To promote coordination of efforts to stop acts of terror on bilateral, regional and international levels; ensuring that instigators of such acts are brought to justice; supporting efforts by all parties to prevent their territories from being used for terrorist purposes; and preventing terrorist organizations from engaging in recruitment, supplying arms, or fund-raising;

(e) To exert maximum efforts to identify and determine the sources of financing for these groups and to cooperate in cutting them off, and by providing training, equipment and other forms of support to those taking steps against groups using violence and terror to undermine peace, security or stability;

(f) To form a working group, open to all Summit participants, to prepare recommendations on how best to implement the decisions contained in this statement, through ongoing work, and to report to the participants within 30 days.

President Bill CLINTON President Hosni MUBARAK
United States of America Arab Republic of Egypt
Co-Chairman Co-Chairman


List of participants

(in the order in which they addressed the Summit)

Co-Chairmen: Egypt and United States of America

1. Russian Federation
2. Israel
3. Palestine
4. Jordan
5. Morocco
6. Turkey
7. France
8. Secretary-General of the United Nations
9. Bahrain
10. Italy
11. Norway
12. Germany
13. Spain
14. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
15. Ireland
16. Mauritania
17. Canada
18. Saudi Arabia
19. Kuwait
20. Yemen
21. Qatar
22. Oman
23. United Arab Emirates
24. Tunisia
25. Algeria
26. Japan
27. European Commission


Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter