Question of Palestine home || Permalink || About UNISPAL || Search

Le droit des palestiniens à l'autodétermination - débats et vote de l'AG - Communiqué de presse (extraits) (18 décembre 2007) Français
Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter

Source: Department of Public Information (DPI)
18 December 2007

General Assembly

            Department of Public Information • News and Media Division • New York

Sixty-second General Assembly
76th & 77th Meetings (AM & PM)


Adopts 54 Resolutions, 12 Decisions Recommended by Third Committee

The General Assembly today adopted 54 resolutions and 12 decisions recommended by its Third Committee (Social, Humanitarian and Cultural), including a landmark text calling for a moratorium on executions to be established in all States that still maintain the death penalty, as well as a resolution strongly condemning rape against women and girls in all its forms, including in conflict situations.


The Assembly also adopted by recorded vote resolutions on the Rights of the Child; the inadmissibility of certain practices that contribute to fuelling contemporary forms of racism, racial discrimination, xenophobia and related intolerance; the Report of the Human Rights Council on the preparations for the Durban Review Conference; the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination; strengthening the role of the United Nations in enhancing the effectiveness of the principle of periodic and genuine elections and the promotion of democratization; globalization and its impact on the full enjoyment of all human rights; combating defamation of religions; the right to development; human rights and unilateral coercive measures; the promotion of peace as a vital requirement for the full enjoyment of all human rights by all; the right to food; and respect for the purposes and principles contained in the Charter of the United Nations.

Speaking in explanation of position were the representatives of Syria, Qatar, Egypt, United States, Israel, Russian Federation, Portugal (on behalf of the European Union), Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Singapore, Mexico, Nigeria, Malaysia, China, Bangladesh, United Kingdom, Bahamas, Colombia, Belarus, Venezuela, Pakistan, San Marino and Lao People’s Democratic Republic.

The Rapporteur of the Third Committee introduced that body’s reports.

The Sudan’s delegate spoke on a point of order. 


The General Assembly met today to take action on the reports of the Third Committee (Social, Humanitarian and Cultural).


Right of Peoples to Self-Determination

The Committee’s report on the Right of peoples to self-determination (document A/62/438) contains three draft resolutions.


Draft resolution III on The right of the Palestinian people to self-determination (document A/C.3/62/L.63), approved by a recorded vote 172 in favour to 5 against (Israel, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Palau, United States), with 5 abstentions (Australia, Canada, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Fiji), on 20 November, would have the Assembly express the urgent need for the resumption of negotiations within the Middle East peace process, and reaffirm the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination, including the right to their independent State of Palestine.  It would also urge all States and the United Nations to continue to support and assist the Palestinian people in the early realization of their right to self-determination.  (Press Release GA/SHC/3909)


Action on the Reports of the Third Committee

Ms. TEBASTO FUTURE BALESENG, of Botswana, Rapporteur of the Third Committee (Social, Humanitarian and Cultural), introduced that body’s reports.


Right of Peoples to Self-Determination

Next, the Assembly took up the Committee’s report on the Right of peoples to self-determination (document A/62/438), which contained three draft resolutions.


Draft resolution III on “The right of the Palestinian people to self-determination” was adopted by a recorded vote of 176 in favour to 5 against (Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, United States, Palau, Israel), with 4 abstentions (Nauru, Australia, Cameroon, Canada).  (See annex V)



Vote on the Right of the Palestinian People to Self-Determination

The draft resolution on the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination (document A/62/438) was adopted by a recorded vote of 176 in favour to 5 against, with 4 abstentions, as follows:

In favour:  Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Against:  Israel, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Palau, United States.

Abstain:  Australia, Cameroon, Canada, Nauru.

Absent:  Dominica, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Kiribati, Seychelles, Timor-Leste, Tonga.


* *** *

For information media • not an official record

Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter