Question of Palestine home || Permalink || About UNISPAL || Search
Droit de peuple Palestine à l’autodétermination - Débat de la Troisième Commission de l’AG – Compte rendu

English (pdf) ||Arabic||Chinese||Français||Русский||Español||

Follow UNISPAL Twitter RSS


        General Assembly
17 January 2010

Original: English

Sixty-fifth session
Official Records

Third Committee

Summary record of the 43rd meeting
Held at Headquarters, New York, on Tuesday, 9 November 2010, at 10 a.m.

Chair: Mr. Tommo Monthe .......................................................... (Cameroon) Contents



The meeting was called to order at 10.15 a.m.


Draft resolution A/C.3/65/L.52: The right of the Palestinian people to self-determination

18. Mr. Selim (Egypt), speaking on behalf of the 95 sponsors, which included Armenia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, China, the Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Cyprus, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, El Salvador, Eritrea, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Latvia, Luxembourg, Mali, Malta, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland and Viet Nam, said that while the Palestinian people were denied the basic human right of self-determination his delegation would continue to sponsor the resolution in the Committee. The draft resolution contained a number of technical updates, but the text was largely the same as that adopted by the Committee last year. He hoped that Member States would send a strong message of solidarity to the Palestinian people by adopting the resolution and that their right to self-determination would soon be recognized and an independent, viable sovereign State could be established, with East Jerusalem as its capital, where the Palestinian people could live alongside Israel.

19. Mr. Gustafik (Secretary of the Committee) announced that Albania, Angola, Botswana, Croatia, Estonia, Ethiopia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mali, Mozambique, the Republic of Moldova, the Republic of the Congo, Serbia, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Timor-Leste and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland had become sponsors of the draft resolution.


The meeting rose at 12.30 p.m.

Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter