Question of Palestine home || Permalink || About UNISPAL || Search

Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter

"As is" reference - not a United Nations document

12 January 2005

The CEC announces the final results of the 2005 Presidential Election


The CEC announces the final results of the 2005 Presidential Election

The CEC held a meeting today at its headquarters in Ramallah to announce the final results of the 2005 presidential election which was held on the 9th of January 2005. The CEC had announced provisional results of the election on Monday the 10th of January.

Prior to the announcement, the CEC reviewed all complaints and observations addressed to the Electoral Committees of all electoral districts. The CEC also reviewed reports received from the same committees on the electoral process in each district.

The vast majority of complaints involved the illegal election campaigning activities on Election Day, the actions of candidates' representatives and the conduct of CEC staff. No complaints were reported on the counting procedures.

The CEC also heard from candidates representatives who attended the meeting and later announced the following results.

Mahmoud Abbas: 501448 votes, 62.52%

Mustafa Barghouthi: 156227 votes,19.48%

Tayseer Khaled: 26848 votes, 3.35 %

Abd Alhalim Ashqar: 22171 votes, 2.76%

Basam Al Salhi: 21429 votes 2.67%

Assayed Barakeh:10406 votes,1.30%

Abd Al-Karim Shbair: 5717 votes,0.71%

Invalid Ballots: 30672 votes, 3.82%

Blank Ballots: 27159 votes,3.39%

Total: 802077 votes

In accordance with Palestinian Law, the CEC delivered a certificate to Mahmoud Abbas ( Abu Mazen) indicating that he had received the highest number of votes in the second Palestinian Presidential Election.

Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter