Question of Palestine home || Permalink || About UNISPAL || Search

Le droit du peuple palestinien à l'autodétermination - débat et vote de l'AG - Communiqué de presse (extraits) Français
Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter

Source: Department of Public Information (DPI)
19 December 2006

General Assembly

Department of Public Information • News and Media Division • New York

Sixty-first General Assembly
81st Meeting (PM)


Resolutions, Decisions also Adopted on Women’s
Advancement, Child Rights, Crime Prevention, Drug Control



The General Assembly met this afternoon to take action on the reports of the Third Committee (Social, Humanitarian and Cultural).


Right of People to Self-Determination


Draft resolution III on the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination would have the Assembly, expressing the urgent need for the resumption of negotiations within the Middle East peace process and for the speedy achievement of a just, lasting and comprehensive peace settlement between the Palestinian and Israeli sides, reaffirm the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination, including the right to their independent State of Palestine, and urge all States and the specialized agencies and organizations of the United Nations system to continue to support and assist them in the early realization of that right.


Promotion and Protection of Human Rights

The Committee’s report on the promotion and protection of human rights (document A/61/443) contains a draft decision, which would have the Assembly take note of the following reports:

Report of the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) (document A/61/36).

Under sub-item 67(a):


Note by the Secretary-General transmitting the report of the Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in the Palestinian territories occupied since 1967 (documents A/61/470 and A/61/470/Corr.1);


Action on Third Committee Reports


It then adopted the draft on the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination by a vote of 176 in favour to 5 against (Israel, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Palau, United States), with 5 abstentions (Australia, Canada, Central African Republic, Nauru, Vanuatu) (see annex V).



Vote on Palestinian Self-Determination

Draft resolution III on the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination (document A/61/442) was adopted by a recorded vote of 176 in favour to 5 against, with 5 abstentions, as follows:

In favour:  Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Timor-Leste, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Against:  Israel, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Palau, United States.

Abstain:  Australia, Canada, Central African Republic, Nauru, Vanuatu.

Absent:  Chad, Equatorial Guinea, Kiribati, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Seychelles, Tonga.


* *** *

For information media • not an official record

Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter