Question of Palestine home || Permalink || About UNISPAL || Search

Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter

Source: Department of Public Information (DPI)
18 December 2009

General Assembly

              Department of Public Information • News and Media Division • New York

Sixty-fourth General Assembly
65th Meeting (AM)



Texts Address, Among Others, Child Rights, Right to Food, Year of Youth;
Also Adopts Resolution on UN Cooperation with Shanghai Cooperation Organization



The General Assembly met this morning to consider the reports of its Third Committee (Social, Humanitarian and Cultural), as well as a draft resolution on cooperation between the United Nations and the Shanghai Cooperation Organization.


Rights of peoples to self-determination

The Committee’s report on the right of peoples to self-determination (A/64/438) contains three draft resolutions.


Draft resolution II on the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination which was approved by a recorded vote of 171 in favour to 6 against (Israel, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau and United States), with 5 abstentions (Botswana, Cameroon, Canada, Tonga and Vanuatu).  That text would have the Assembly reaffirm the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination, including the right to their independent State of Palestine.  It would urge all States and the specialized agencies and organizations of the United Nations system to continue to support and assist the Palestinian people in the early realization of their right to self-determination.  (Press Release GA/SHC/3966)


Action on Third Committee Texts

The Assembly first moved to take action on the Committee’s reports, which were introduced by Rapporteur NICOLA HILL ( New Zealand).


Rights of peoples to self-determination


Draft resolution II on the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination was then adopted by a vote of 176 in favour to 6 against (Israel, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, Palau and United States), with 3 abstentions (Cameroon, Canada and Tonga).  (See Annex IV)



Vote on Palestinian self-determination

The draft resolution on the right of the Palestinian people to self-determination (document A/64/438) was adopted by a recorded vote of 176 in favour to 6 against, with 3 abstentions, as follows:

In favour:  Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Timor-Leste, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Against:  Israel, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Nauru, Palau, United States.

Abstain:  Cameroon, Canada, Tonga.

Absent:  Gambia, Kiribati, Myanmar, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Somalia, Vanuatu.


* *** *

For information media • not an official record

Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter