Question of Palestine home || Permalink || About UNISPAL || Search

Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter

"As is" reference - not a United Nations document

Source: European Union (EU)
4 January 2005

PACE to observe election of the President of the Palestinian Authority

Strasbourg, 04.01.2005 - A 15-member delegation of the Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly (PACE), lead by Lord Kilclooney, former Minister at Home Affairs in Northern Ireland, will observe the election of the President of the Palestinian Authority to be held on 9 January 2005.

During their stay in Ramallah and Jerusalem, from 7 to 10 January, the parliamentarians will meet with the candidates for the Presidency, the Prime Minister of the Palestinian Authority, the Chair of the Central Electoral Commission and the Speaker of the Palestinian Legislative Council, as well as with representatives of the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA) and NGO's.

A press conference will take place on Monday 10 January at 10 a.m. at the Hotel Ambassador, Nablus Road, Sheikh Jarrah, Jerusalem.

Head of the delegation: Lord Kilclooney,
mob. +44 7745961 677; American Colony Hotel, tel: +972 2 6279777 Fax: +972 2 6279779

Socialist Group (SOC)
Tom Cox United Kingdom

Josette Durrieu France

Andreas Gross Switzerland

Tadeusz Iwinski Poland

Ruth Gaby Vermot-Mangold Switzerland

Tana de Zulueta Italy

Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CD)
Corien Jonker Netherlands

Lord Kilclooney United Kingdom

Mehmet Tekelioglu Turkey

Jozefina Topalli Albania

Liberal, Democratic and Reformers' Group (LDR)
Helena Bargholtz Sweden

Daniel Goulet France

Lord Russell-Johnston United Kingdom

European Democrat Group (EDG)
André Kvakkestad Norway

Mikhail Margelov Russia

Group of the Unified European Left (UEL)
Leo Platvoet Netherlands

Contact: Francesc Ferrer, PACE Communication Unit, mob. +33 6 30 49 68 22, American Colony Hotel, Tel: +972 2 6279777 Fax: +972 2 6279779;

Press Release
Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit

Ref: 001a05

Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93
Fax :+33 3 90 21 41 34


The Parliamentary Assembly brings together 630 members from the national parliaments of the 46 member states.
President: Peter Schieder (Austria, SOC); Secretary General of the Assembly: Bruno Haller.

Political Groups: SOC (Socialist Group); EPP/CD (Group of the European People's Party); LDR (Liberal, Democratic and Reformers' Group);

EDG (European Democratic Group); UEL (Group of the Unified European Left).

Follow UNISPAL RSS Twitter